I’d Prefer Not To: An Ode to Jenny Odell’s Refusal

Going through Jenny Odell’s third chapter about refusal I was intrigued by “Bartleby The Scrivener”, a short story about a man who repeatedly utters the phrase “I’d prefer not to” to every action demanded by his employer (a lawyer). With this, Jenny Odell highlights the reactions of his employer, being very surprised in a way. I went along as to read the this short story about Bartleby and there’s more to it. In my essay I talked about how Bartleby’s passivity within society parallels with Odell’s point on “resisting the attention economy”. I also went to talk about the other character’s reactions to Bartleby and how that also has meaning in society. Jenny Odell knew Bartleby was “resisting” society in his own specific way.

“Part of the reason why it is odd that the lawyer is confused and ultimately shocked by Bartleby’s behavior is because he doesn’t know the reason for his actions. Odell states, “He not only will not do what he asked, he answers in a way that negates the terms of the question.” In doing this she suggests that the lawyer can’t deduce anything from Bartleby because Bartleby doesn’t “battle on the same plane”.”

This is a quote from my essay where I describe the unknown feeling the lawyer feels. Whether we like it or not, the concept of something being unknown tends to be fearful. With Bartleby having the power to give off this unknown feeling to the lawyer is a way Bartleby has control over him in a way, mentally. This gives him a passive presence and leaves me thinking “it’s important to be aware of the passive existence in our world and understand how it works.

I’d Prefer Not to: An ode to Jenny Odell’s Refusal

5 thoughts on “I’d Prefer Not To: An Ode to Jenny Odell’s Refusal”

  1. Angel, I not only found your essay very interesting, but also enjoyable to read. It flows from point to point which made your essay an easy read and enjoyable. You make Bartleby the Scrivener seem like a fantastic book, and honestly, make me want to read it. I really like how you talk about how we “google” something whenever we need it and just run with the answer. I have fallen as a victim to doing this just about every day. Coping with the unknown is very difficult to do, and this provides justification for why the lawyer feels how he feels. Your reasoning and connections throughout the essay are great. Good Job!

    Like

  2. Angel, I really like what you did with your essay. First off, I think you were super effective with your ability to talk about Bartleby and then connect his actions to current times. I also thought your take that Odell picks and chooses the good parts of Bartebly was interesting as I did not get to read Bartebly and could never have this interpretation. Additionally, your addition of the 3 characters was a nice way to give readers who lack the context and additional knowledge as a result of not reading Bartleby. Overall, your piece was exciting and well-argued, well done!

    Like

  3. Angel, I really like what you did with your essay. First off, I think you were super effective with your ability to talk about Bartleby and then connect his actions to current times. I also thought your take that Odell picks and chooses the good parts of Bartebly was interesting as I did not get to read Bartebly and could never have this interpretation. Additionally, your addition of the 3 characters was a nice way to give readers who lack the context and additional knowledge as a result of not reading Bartleby. Your mentioning of an alternate meaning at the end of the essay was a perfect final thought and clincher. Overall, your piece was exciting and well-argued, well done!

    Like

  4. Angel, I enjoyed reading your essay. What drew me to it was the comments you made on mine. I think you did a very good job on your analysis of Bartleby, you share a similar analysis to mine in the sense that you agree that Odell seems to miss a very important part of the story. One thing you seem to do is focus on the reaction of the character of Bartleby rather than focus in on Bartleby himself, same as Odell. You also expand on it too, not just talking about the lawyer, but the reactions of the other employees as well, you did a good job of explaining their personality types. I think you did a great job explaining what the story was about as a whole. I enjoyed reading your interpretation of Bartleby as well as your analysis of why Odell mentions it. Overall I say you did a great job with your essay.

    Like

  5. Angel, i very much enjoyed reading your piece. I found it very interesting the character of Bartleby and found his analysis very intriguing. It is interesting to see how you felt Odell left some things on the table when refrencing your book as i felt she did the same with mine. Only choosing to speak about the part she wanted to and not necessarily the entire picture per-say. Overall i really liked the connections you made and the thought you did a very good job with your essay

    Like

Leave a comment